day 8

Picked up the plastic cap to a water bottle in my own driveway this morning. But have decided that litter in my own yard doesn’t count. It should be picked up, of course, but it doesn’t count.

That left me with trash collecting outside the big library while H was inside the building for Lego Club. No problem. There’s all kinds of trash over by Shiverick’s Pond. Right? Right except I didn’t really want to leave H for the 15 minutes it would have taken to walk over to the pond and back so I waited until 4:45 when I figured if I waited any longer I’d be search for trash in the dark and I excused myself to take books to the car hoping I could find sometime between the library back entrance and the parking lot. Ah a plastic sandwich bag. Success! And as a bonus, when I went around to open the back of the car there was a bent tire rim (not to my car!) in the grass.

For a finishing touch to the day I stopped on the way home from Zen class to pick up a plastic bag that was in the middle of the Rte.28A.

In trash-related news – I found out yesterday that there’s a trash museum in Hartford, replete with a “tower of trash” and ! Hartford! Only two hours away. We are so going.

The museum also houses a year’s worth of trash accumulated by one David Chameides, aka Sustainable Dave. In case you were wondering the trash was formerly housed in Sustainable D’s basement (in California I think) before its big move to the East Coast.

Today of course is Elvis’s birthday. With all dues respect to The King one has to wonder what a year’s worth of his garbage would have amounted to.

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to day 8

  1. Kathy says:

    I bet the king’s garbage might have held some interesting insight into his daily life.

    Kathy
    http://gigglingtruckerswife.blogspot.com

  2. joanne says:

    Agreed Kathy! At least there would have been all those peels from his peanut butter and banana sandwiches and the remnants of tvs he’d shot up 🙂

Leave a Reply

