day 5

Today was an interesting trash day. I picked up a diaper that was inside a sealed plastic bag w/diaper wipes that was lying a mere 10 feet from a trash can leading me to believe in good faith that the diaper fell out of a stroller. I didn’t actually check whether the diaper was dirty (I’m not that gross) and I was wearing my mittens when I picked it up.

I would like to applaud the playground at the Mullen Hall Elementary School for having not one, but two trash cans on their playground. I know there are none at the elementary school my kids attend though I suspect, since Mullen Hall is located in town across from the library, they get a lot more traffic from the general public.

I picked up a few more items at the playground while H, S & N ran around and C played basketball in the school. A straw, a broken plastic knife, a ketchup packet, and a first: a frozen dinner. Not the empty box – a whole dinner. Still mostly frozen.

It was a rough day for trash in Pine Bay. The garbage had recently been collected and while walking the loop I noticed a number of items that had “gotten away.” Styrofoam meat tray, plastic bubble wrap, the plastic bag that goes around a head of lettuce, a protein shake bottle. I can’t remember what all else. People’s barrels were still out so the stuff I picked up I deposited back into the barrels from which it all most likely came.

Two chapters into “Plastic Free” I was excited to make it out of Jack in the Beanstalk without purchasing anything that was wrapped in plastic. Of course I only bought four things – but still – it felt successful.

In other entertained trash news I asked H to bring in the recycle bins this morning and he kindly obliged.

He even asked if he could bring in the garbage can.

“Sure.” I said. “Thanks for being such a helper.”

Later on when Ken got home his first question was, “Why did you bring in the trash can before the garbage truck went by?”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

