day 1

Day one of 365 days of trash got off to an inauspicious start. After hoofing it down to the end of the road to pick up a chip bag we noticed on our way to Woods Hole this morning we found the bag gone.

“Maybe someone else who made a New Year’s Resolution to pick up at least one piece of litter every day for the whole year already picked it up,” I said.

We walked home scanning our road to avoid the necessity of driving to Old Silver to look for trash and I realized that trash is harder to find when there’s snow on the ground.

Happily there was a plastic milk jug lid in our driveway.

Does stuff that we probably dropped ourselves count?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to day 1

  1. I love it! I never thought I’d “hear” someone say that “happily” there was litter in our yard! LOL! I love this project, though, what a great thing to commit to!

  2. I recall getting to vacation in Woods Hole once and enjoyed it. I commend you on your resolution to pick up from others, as it is a nice community service. I don’t have to make a resolution for my town as i got some messy neighbors who toss trash out of their car (kid you not) and it all ends up here. I clean up all the time from them. It is frustrating. I am tempted to put it in a bag and then at week end put it on their stoop, but it is just easier to toss it and not deal with them.

  3. Thanks for your comment Becca. There is, unfortunately, lots of trash in my town. My problem yesterday was that I didn’t want to get everyone back into the car in order to go and look for it. I figure the gas expended to drive somewhere to pick up the trash negates the good karma of cleaning up litter!
    Ugh, Winnie, too bad about your neighbors but you are good hearted to take the high road and clean up after them. I’m always floored to see people throw stuff out car windows – as if it just disappears.

Leave a Reply

